Jump to content
Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

CZ P-07/P-09/75D/Tactical decockers in production


Recommended Posts

I saw lots of bickering, and not really a final verdict, so I figured I'd ask the people who are actually running the pistol...

 

Has any RO asked you to (or DQ'd you for not) lower the hammer into the FULLY down position, or is using the decocker to start in a half cocked position deemed acceptable?

Link to post
Share on other sites

it's technically not half-cocked. Appendix D4, Special Conditions item 1:

A hammer is considered to be in the "hammer down" position when the hammer is placed there by pulling the trigger while manually lowering the hammer (manually decocking) OR by activating the decocking lever if present. (emphasis mine)

 

Any RO who asks you to lower it fully down needs to go back and read the rulebook.

Link to post
Share on other sites

I have had a RO tell me to lower the hammer when making ready instead of using the de-cocker. I told him he was wrong. 

If a gun has a de-cocker you can use it when making ready.  If the DA gun doesn't have a de-cocker then you have to have the hammer fully forward at make ready. When the course of fire is complete and you show clear then you have to have the hammer fully forward regardless of if you have a de-cocker or not.

I e-mailed Troy about this and he confirmed all of that and sent me the rulings/interpretations. 

Edited by BJB
Link to post
Share on other sites

Had one give me s#!t about disqualifying me for easing my hammer down after the stage to preserve my firing pin retaining pin. I have the slide held open, you can see there is no mag or round in the chamber. He was my first stage and set the mood for the whole match. It was a p09 with safeties installed.

Edited by Joedirt199
Link to post
Share on other sites
1 hour ago, Joedirt199 said:

Had one give me s#!t about disqualifying me for easing my hammer down after the stage to preserve my firing pin retaining pin. I have the slide held open, you can see there is no mag or round in the chamber. He was my first stage and set the mood for the whole match. It was a p09 with safeties installed.

Not sure about the DQ part, but the rule is hammer down. You must pull the trigger to drop hammer. That is a rule.

8.3.7.1 is the rule.

the dq would come under 10.6.1

Edited by rooster
Looked up rule #
Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 2 weeks later...
On ‎3‎/‎19‎/‎2019 at 8:43 AM, Joedirt199 said:

Had one give me s#!t about disqualifying me for easing my hammer down after the stage to preserve my firing pin retaining pin. I have the slide held open, you can see there is no mag or round in the chamber. He was my first stage and set the mood for the whole match. It was a p09 with safeties installed.

 

You're in violation of 8.3.7.1.  I'm not sure what penalty you could be assessed but I would have made you do ULSC over until you did it right.

Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

×
×
  • Create New...