Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!
Sign in to follow this  
Ihrtuspsa

Sub major pf with 124 g4 that are loaded to majo

So my major is hs6 at 7.8 to 7.9 grains they are already loaded to 1.1575. I bought a new chrony chronograph and works great. But I think some of the bullets I had had inconsistent seat depth so the rounds on the higher end toward 1.16 were showing less than major velocity but I was wondering I it is safe to assume I can measure all my loaded rounds and reseat them to 1.150 that way my velocity goes up a bit to make major. I have no pressure signs at 1.1550 but since some rounds are coming in at 1322fps, if I reseat said rounds to 1.150 I should gain some velocity back to get back up to major. However the 124gr hbfp have been the most consistent and accurate round I've loaded yet but to avoid being bumped to minor can I safely reseat down a bit?

I used to load HS6 at 1.145" and up to 1.170", and saw very little difference in velocity.

How many of these do you have on hand ?   I'd use them for practice and work up a 

load that makes major for comp shooting.     :) 

Okay thanks will do going be using the 124 grain Berry's Hollow base Flat Point thick play I just worked out loads for that those shoot amazingly fly and very consistent on the chronograph. Thank you

Is there anyone else that thinks seating from 1.15 to 1.495 could make the ditterence in power factor. Most loads are major but some come in at 1325 shooting a 124gr bullet.  I think the projectiles I am using just have too many variations. I was gonna try it tonight and see if it helps and then gonna load 10 or 20 at .1gr heavier and see if that does it. I do have a solid backup tho with the berry's 124gr thick plate hbfp

Edited by Ihrtuspsa