Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

9 major

wingnut

Since you're new to OPEN, I'd suggest WAC or HS6, to start.

There are some new powders that are supposed to be very good, also,

like Lovex - I have no personal experience with them.

If you're new, start out slowly and get the basics right before working up

to PF 172 or so.   Have to have a chrono.   Start at PF 155 or so, and work

up slowly to desired level,   AND, have fun - welcome to OPEN.     :) 

13 hours ago, wingnut said:

New to open. Looking for powders WAC or Silhouette. I an using MG 124s and Blazer brass. What powder would be your choice ?

I use both plus HS-6

STI Custom built 5”

Montana Gold 124gr JHP

1.165 OAL

CCI SRP

Mixed brass

AutoComp 7.0gr 172 pf 

Silhouette 7.8gr 171 pf 

HS-6 8.4gr 173 pf 

Of the two proposed, I prefer Silhouette.  It is less dirty.  In reality, you could flip a coin; they are that close.  I recently switched from Silhouette to Major Pistol powder (canister Lovex 37.1) and will never go back.  It is much slower, softer and flatter.  For some reason it smokes less and burns cleaner.  I could literally reuse the brass without tumbling it again.  Another good reason is if you load long (1.161+") you make major at or near SAAMI max pressures, so it is safer.  With anything slower than 3N38, AA7 or MP, you will be way over.

Before you lock yourself into a single powder, you should try several.  They all feel different.

3n38, AA7 or HS6 should really only be the three powders we're talking about with this topic anymore. With the bullet started, 9.8ish grains of AA7 should be good to go

Edited by sstephns

What????

3n38 is too bulky, and ends up being compressed to the point of pushing the bullet out slightly. 3n37 is more popular.

Silhouette is used by a lot of open shooters, as is WAC.

Even CFE is a good open powder.

10 hours ago, sstephns said: