Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Why revolvers?

Esquire

I'm still new to competitive shooting.  Really new.  But I'm shooting revolvers.  I think I do it because in my mind it's harder to shoot revolvers well than just about any other handgun. 

Why do you guys shoot wheelguns in competition? 

I shoot them because I like them better than semi autos. I've been shooting them in competition since 1979. I have a pretty good stable of really nice ones now, so not much incentive to switch over.  Besides, I think I'm about to get this revo shooting thing figured out.

1 hour ago, Esquire said:

I'm still new to competitive shooting.  Really new.  But I'm shooting revolvers.  I think I do it because in my mind it's harder to shoot revolvers well than just about any other handgun. 

Why do you guys shoot wheelguns in competition? 

It's harder to shoot with a cinder-block duct-taped to your butt too.

I feel like this thread has the potential to derail quickly. However, here are my honest thoughts:

1. I like revolversbut not at the expense of semis. The two aren’t mutually exclusive.

2. When I first started shooting I found the double action pull of the revolver was more accurate for me (it helped me stabilize myself), rather than jerking the trigger. Now that I have a little more experience this isn’t necessarily the case, but it was when I started and probably influenced me.

3. I grew up playing “cops”, and the cap guns were all styled after double action revolvers. In contrast, men in my dad’s generation grew up playing “cowboys” and some of the guys I shoot with seem to like single action revolvers.

4. I hate losing brass.

5. Jerry Miculek

I’m sure there are a million other reasons why someone would prefer one type of firearm over another, it is all personal preference after all. I tend to think all the divisions have something to offer, and am having trouble trying to stay committed to only one this year.

Edited by J_Allen

3 hours ago, Toolguy said: