Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

School me on PCC

Longtime reader but this is my first time posting. I'm going to get into USPSA PCC and need a 9mm carbine. I've done some research including review past PCC threads, but I could use input from the hive mind. My budget is <1400 total including mags, extensions, belt pouches. I already have a good optic.

Here are my thoughts, please correct me if I have made any mistakes, I'm here to learn!

1) I shoot glock but I have no 33 rounders. Should I go colt or glock for the lower? Either way I'll purchase two or three mags and two or three extended baseplates. Colt gives you potential ambi and better angle plus slightly cheaper mags. On the other hand I have no plans to give up shooting glocks and commonality is nice. I have seen both colt and glock at local matches.

2) The CMMG radially-delayed system is appealing, should I get this and add a better buffer (but which one ??) I have read several threads and it seems like the recoil reduction over straight blowback is marginal but there may be some reliability advantage. Whats the latest thinking on this? Does anyone have solid experience with both and recommend one over the other?

3) I don't like Sig and don't want an MPX. I also don't want a Ruger PC carbine.

4) If CMMG Guard isn't the bees knees, I will just assemble a standard AR9. I've seen some threads with build lists, but here are the components I'm leaning toward:

-Taccom complete 14.5 upper with extreme feed ramp, extreme bolt, and pinned comp

-QC10 lower

-taccom multistage buffer with short stroke kit OR blitzkrieg hydraulic buffer with JP 308 spring (again, if you have experience with both please post your thoughts)

5) JP GMR15 is probably awesome but seems overpriced for a 9mm blowback, especially if I start swapping out parts. My 5.56 competition rifle cost significantly less than a GMR15.