Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Is 45 acp limited dead?

CzViper

• Replies 56
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

No sane person builds a gun in 45 to shoot limited, if that is what you are wondering.  But there is a local guy and i have seen a couple others that use a 45 in limited cause that is what they have.  It can work and i would actually use it over 9 given the option, but it is not optimum 

Does anybody shoot 45 acp for limited division or is 40 S&W pretty much what everybody uses?

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk

yea it's dead.
you just can't get to the same capacity as 40 with 140mm mags

Yes, I'm just getting into USPSA and I'm looking at a custom build. From reading I'm sticking with major for the scoring.

Using 140mm mags it's 16 for 45 acp and 20 for 40 S&W. From what I understand once you get that low in the mag there would be a reload anyhow. So is there a need for the extra rounds in stages that anyone has experienced?

Or is it more the recoil that people use 40 S&W?

Yes, I'm just getting into USPSA and I'm looking at a custom build. From reading I'm sticking with major for the scoring.

Using 140mm mags it's 16 for 45 acp and 20 for 40 S&W. From what I understand once you get that low in the mag there would be a reload anyhow. So is there a need for the extra rounds in stages that anyone has experienced?

in my experience, 45 shot softer than 40(handloads) BUT absolutely yes better to have the 20 rounds. unless you can guarantee yourself you can go one for one on all your targets. No, it's never good yo go to empty

1 hour ago, CzViper said:

If you are getting a limited gun built, what reason would you have to shoot a 45?

When was it ever alive ?
I think at one time single stack mags didnt have to meet the 140 rule,, So maybe 45 limited would be fine in 10 round only states,,, But other than that youd be a one legged man at an ass kicking contest

53 minutes ago, Joe4d said:

When was it ever alive ?