Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

329pd (aluminum 44mag) for competition?

Benevolence

I’m just getting into competition shooting but I have a 329PD for backpacking (my only revolver) and was thinking maybe it could be decent for competition if loaded with 240gr plated FN and trail boss to get just above major power factor (~700ft/s)? I don’t think the internals would be as nice as a 627/625 but perhaps a good into to revo?

The internals are exactly the same as the 627/625/929 - All which are N Frame guns, so the gun could be tuned up just as nice as any other gun. Only difference is the barrel and cylinder.

That being said, it can work for competition, but isnt really the best choice depending on what you want to play - Because it's a 6 shot gun. For the majority of competitions the 8 shot guns really are the logical choice. But, you can absolutely participate in ICORE Limited 6, And USPSA Revolver Major division.

Best of luck. 

It would be permitted, but you would be happier if you traded it for something else. Right now the 929 is probably the most widely applicable and ammunition is cheap.

The 329PD is short (sight radius) and light (heavy recoil) and reloads would be a score killer.

Edited by Waltermitty