Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Question about Ultrasonic Cleaning Solutions

Centuriator

I'm new to ultrasonic cleaners and have settled on Lucas Oil's Extreme Bore Solvent and Ultrasonic for my cleaning solutions. Question: How many times can it be reused? If you have any other advice, tips, tricks, suggestions...I'm all ears!

It depends on how well you clean your gun before you put it in the cleaner.  If you don't clean it at all you will have a lot of gunk in the solution that will have to be filtered out.  If you don't clean the solution, enough stuff will accumulate that you could actually stain finishes like Cerakote.

I would not use bore solvent in the cleaner.  After trying some 'dedicated' ultrasonic cleaners, I settled on Slip 2000 725 cleaner.  It is water based and does an outstanding job.  It also doesn't harm anything.  I clean the gun thoroughly before placing it in the ultrasonic cleaner.  I use the cleaner to reach spots you cannot effectively get to manually.

Just a FWIW...

My buddy cleans motorcycle parts.  He fills the tub up with water, puts the parts in a ziploc and fills the ziploc with cleaner, closes it and lets the machine do its thing.  He finds that he is using much less solution.  

YMMV

I have been using Simple Green for years.  I keep it in an old glass peanut butter jar.  Put the parts into the jar, hot water into the ultrasonic, and the jar into the hot water. Cleans great, even the front end of a SS cylinder from a revolver.

I bought an heated L&R 20 years ago when I was shooting HK P7s.

It is a tank, has been great. Wish I had a rifle sized one but they were priced in the stratosphere.

I continue to use their cleaning solution which I get from Brownells.

Not to steal this topic but what do you guys use for a lubricating solution? The price of the L&R is has gone way up?

TIA

jon

On 3/2/2019 at 5:45 AM, RePete said: