Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Using a Case Gauge

Stoph

I am relatively new to reloading. My dad and I did some for .44 magnum many years ago, but I'm just getting back into it, more thoughtful this time. I am loading mostly 9mm, with a Dillon progressive reloader, and I'm understanding that COL is important. The longer or shorter than "the norm" your round is, the lower or higher will be the pressure for the particular load and bullet weight than "the norm". I've been loading practice ammo thus far, well within recommended limits, so COL has not been a problem.

I've begun using a case gauge recently on my finished products before boxing them for range use. I found out the hard way that some rounds wouldn't chamber, not due to length but to case girth, like the size die hadn't done its job. I now catch these before going to the range, but after I've loaded the round. Seems like about 5-6 out of every hundred. It's slow work to disassemble the faulty rounds, trying to save the bullets and powder-usually not the casing.

I retrieve my range brass (plus some) each visit, sort out all but "9mm Luger" casings, no +P or other such. I then clean with spent primers intact, to keep media out of the pocket. Does anyone take the time to deprime/resize, then check case fit in a gauge BEFORE reloading?

Any more experienced than I have suggestions? Thanks!

8 minutes ago, Stoph said:

I am relatively new to reloading. My dad and I did some for .44 magnum many years ago, but I'm just getting back into it, more thoughtful this time. I am loading mostly 9mm, with a Dillon progressive reloader, and I'm understanding that COL is important. The longer or shorter than "the norm" your round is, the lower or higher will be the pressure for the particular load and bullet weight than "the norm". I've been loading practice ammo thus far, well within recommended limits, so COL has not been a problem.