Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Glock Noob question

fastlane604

I am new to Glocks.  I am not new to handguns.  I have a CZ 75 Shadow SA, an SP-01 that I converted to SAO and two P-10Cs. I have owned 1911s and M&Ps.  I just bought a Glock 34 Gen 5. When I pull the trigger on a snap cap I cannot rack the slide.  To unlock the gun,  I must release the slide, take it off the frame and move the tab on the striker to the rear.  Only then will the barrel release. If I have not pulled the trigger, the slide racks like normal and the round ejects.  Is this normal for a Glock?  All my other guns will let me rack a snap cap after I have pulled the trigger.  I have switched out the OEM striker spring for a Wolff 4.5 lb striker spring.  Would that cause the problem?  I have lighter striker springs on both my P-10Cs and they still rack a snap cap after a pulled trigger.  

45 minutes ago, taxil343 said:

Does the gun function normally if you dryfire it without the snap cap in the chamber?

Yes.  So far, it functions just fine in live fire or dry fire, other than not ejecting a snap cap after pulling the trigger.  If that is the only abnormality, I am fine with it.  I won't use snap caps.  However, my fear is if I have a light strike or a high or dead primer,  that I won't be able to rack a new round into the chamber.

3 hours ago, fastlane604 said:

Yes.  So far, it functions just fine in live fire or dry fire, other than not ejecting a snap cap after pulling the trigger.  If that is the only abnormality, I am fine with it.  I won't use snap caps.  However, my fear is if I have a light strike or a high or dead primer,  that I won't be able to rack a new round into the chamber.