Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Practice Loads?

hump

I am just getting started in open and have been practicing with minor loads I have for carry optics (130pf) I have a load for major pf of 6.8 WAC with 124 Precision Delta bullets @1.160"  Should I load some practice rounds somewhere between these two or just practice with the major loads. I don't mind leaving the brass after it has been loaded to major PF.

Powder is cheapest component of reloading.  So, you're not gonna save money doing that. 

To me it makes the most sense to practice with what I'm going to shoot in matches. So loading down for practice isn't going to have the same feel. 

just my opinion 

Edited by B_RAD

This is what I used to do when I first started loading major. My major load was 7.5g hs-6 with 124g bullet. I’d load up practice rounds at 7 grains. Just felt safer to me at the time when I was just getting Into it. Now I prefer to practice with the same load, so the recoil/impulse/dot tracking is the same. I get once fired brass and I’ll load it 2-3 times before tossing is. But if you like to leave it after the first reload to major, but you’ll shoot minor reloads a few times then you’ll save some money buy not loading practice rounds to major. Probably would be wise to shoot some a few mags worth of true major rounds before a match, as it’s going to be a bit different then your practice load and you wanna be used to it. 

42 minutes ago, Jfitz427 said: