Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Sig P320x5 vs Canik TP9SFx

mich3210

Good Morning All!

Looking for some help here. I started shooting IDPA and Action Pistol last year with an H&K VP9. I did really well, and fell in love with the sport. I'm looking to take things to the next level and get a new firearm specifically for competition. I had the opportunity to shoot the following last night: XDm 5.25 Comp, M&P Pro, Glock 34, Walther PPQ M2, Canik TP9SF and Sig P320x5. 

Out of those that I shot, I shot the Canik and Sig the best. They had the tightest groups and they both felt the best in my hand. I was really surprised at how well the Canik felt and especially how well it shot. It was extremely accurate! The Sig seemed to eat up the recoil much better, most likely due to the heftier weight.

Now it comes down to making a decision, and I'm really torn on which direction to go. The price point of the Canik is very tempting, considering that I can get the gun and an optic for about the same price as just the Sig alone. I will be adding an optic to whichever one I get. If I go with the Sig I'll be topping it with a Romeo 1, if I go with the Canik I'll be topping it with a Vortex Venom. Either will be a 6MOA. 

I'd appreciate feedback from those of you that have experience with both of these guns.

I was in the same predicament a year ago. I ended up buying the X5 and I’m glad I did. It just feels better and shot accurately.

Sig just came out with a newer version of the X5 last month and the price for the older version is a lot less now. Check that out. I would also agree with a 6moa Romeo 1. The newer version of the Romeo 1 is apparently better and improved compared to the older version.

I installed a springer precision tungsten guide rod and use a 10# 1911 recoil spring on mine. This setup suits my loads pretty well.

Good luck.

3 minutes ago, George16 said: