Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

advice with first AR15 build

jmac2112

Hi,

I've been shooting pistol for a couple of years now (USPSA, Steel Challenge, other), and now I've decided to get an AR15.  I like building things, so I decided to do this myself, but I could use a few pointers.  

First of all, this will be used primarily for competition and general range use.  I'm trying to keep the total cost below $1000 (minus optics), but that's not hard and fast.  I'd also like it to be fairly light wieght, and with decent accuracy out to 400 yards.   In the end, I want a gun that is a pleasure to shoot without breaking the bank.  

Here are the parts I have ordered so far:

M4E1 Builder Set w/ ATLAS S-ONE Handguard (stripped lower with integral trigger guard, assembled upper with FA, 12” M-Lok handguard)

https://www.aeroprecisionusa.com/m4e1-builder-set-atlas-s-one-handguard

I also plan to get this:

Match Series- 16" Gunner, 223 Wylde, Mid-Length, 416R, Nitride, 5R,

Nickel Teflon Extension  (https://faxonfirearms.com/match-series-16-gunner-223-wylde-mid-length-416r-nitride-5r-nickel-teflon-extension/) 

I've been told that a mid-length gas system is the way to go for my purposes, but I need to know exactly what that means.  Specifically, I am unsure what to buy in terms of the buffer/spring/buffer tube.  Do I want a carbine setup, or rifle?  Standard buffer, or one of the heavier ones?  Brownells sells this one, which seems to be meant for general purposes:

https://www.brownells.com/rifle-parts/receiver-parts/buffer-tube-parts/buffer-tubes/ar-15-m16-mil-spec-buffer-tube-assembly-prod56055.aspx

Also, is there any benefit to getting an adjustable gas block if I keep everything else stock?  Or is that like adding a fart-can muffler to a Honda Civic and expecting to go faster?

And lastly, please feel free to correct me if I'm not even asking the right questions!

Thanks,

John