Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

How good a shot before starting USPSA?

matir

How good a shot were you before you started shooting in USPSA?  How tight should my groups be?

I just got a CZ-75 SP-01 (my first full caliber pistol) and I'm very excited about trying competition, but right now my groups are still pretty terrible (6" at 15 yds).  How tight should I be getting them before I start competing?  I'd rather not look foolish at my first match, after all.

• Replies 79
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I was horrible, but i thought i was a little better than horrible.  Just go shoot and be safe.  Almost everyone looks more or less foolish at their first match, i am sure they are exceptions, but they are very rare.  Read the rule book, or at least the safety portion and go find a match and let them know you are a total noob, they will get you lined out

5 minutes ago, matir said:

I'd rather not look foolish at my first match, after all.

To some extent that is unavoidable. :) 

If you do try a match have a buddy video you. In as little as one season you will look back at the video and get a kick out of it. Even if you are an awesome shot you will most likely have the "wrong" gun, gear, ammo, etc etc...... It's that way with any game though.

But don't let any of your concerns keep you from getting out and at least try it. There are all kinds of shooters and skill levels but by and large most are great people who will be glad to help. In a match you are not trying to shoot groups. You are trying to hit the targets as fast as you can. Just do it!!

How good a shot were you before you started shooting in USPSA?  How tight should my groups be?

I just got a CZ-75 SP-01 (my first full caliber pistol) and I'm very excited about trying competition, but right now my groups are still pretty terrible (6" at 15 yds).  How tight should I be getting them before I start competing?  I'd rather not look foolish at my first match, after all.