Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Dryfire question

MisterPlink

When you are doing dryfire how much front sight movement is acceptable? Should it remain completely motionless, as if the gun is locked in a vise? Or is a small amount of wiggle  acceptable? I find it nearly impossible to hold it motionless for rapid fire.

My skill level is absolute beginner.

When you are doing dryfire how much front sight movement is acceptable? Should it remain completely motionless, as if the gun is locked in a vise? Or is a small amount of wiggle  acceptable? I find it nearly impossible to hold it motionless for rapid fire.

My skill level is absolute beginner.

7 yards or less on easy targets hammer away.

7-15 yards with No shoots or hard cover get a still, clear sight picture.

15 yards or more get that still sight picture.

In dry fire you can push a wobbly sight picture but understand that depending on difficulty of shot in LIVE FIRE you'll need a stable sight picture with an efficient TRIGGER PULL

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk

I strive to hold the gun and manipulate the trigger in a manner that keeps the gun as still as possible.  

I understand that perfectly still may not be possible.  

I accept any alignment or movement that would still give me the desired result in my target area.  

The answer to this question is to learn how misaligned your sights can be and still hit the target you are aiming at.

An experienced shooter can put the front post at maximum misalignment inside the notch (but still visible) and shoot a 6” group at 7 yds because the gun holds that position as he works the trigger.

A novice has the gun aligned perfectly the shoots 8” low because he moves the gun as it fires. Flinches, or tightens all other fingers as the index finger pulls.

You need two things: