Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Open gun sight mount options...mine is off center(?)

vgdvc

Alleluia! After some to-do I finally received my Brazos Custom SC open pistol today. Until I build some loads and get to the range I can only dry- fire (which I guess is smart before I launch a bunch of .38 Super downrange). I am new to open division. My question is regarding the mount. It holds the Cmore slide ride off center of the slide to the left about 1/4". It seems awkward to me and I am considering some non offset mount.. Original owner said it is set up like this from Brazos to help ensure no ejection issues. He is a retiring M class shooter so it obviously didn't negatively affect him. Is anyone experienced with this type of mount arrangenent or other options to suggest. Thanks.

12 minutes ago, outerlimits said:

lots of companies build theirs like that-you'll get used to it.  i've shot one (cheely) for 4 years now and i don't notice it at all.  if you were shooting 500 yard targets with it, that would be another story.

Gotcha. Thanks for the input. Does it mess up the draw when going to another pistol w/o an off center. Do you think it's necessary in a .38 Super for reliable ejection?

5 minutes ago, vgdvc said:

Gotcha. Thanks for the input. Does it mess up the draw when going to another pistol w/o an off center. Do you think it's necessary in a .38 Super for reliable ejection?

It’s not going to mess up your draw. You’re over thinking it. Is it necessary for 38? I don’t know. 

Without being a d*ck - leave it alone!  You got it from a M class.  It was built that way by Brazos.  Your new to Open.  Leave it be.

I have 2 Brazos blasters and other than stippling and lot of practice they are the way Bob built them.

54 minutes ago, BLUTO said:

Without being a d*ck - leave it alone!  You got it from a M class.  It was built that way by Brazos.  Your new to Open.  Leave it be.