Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

1911 Complete Disassembly, Cleaner, Lube

SingingShooter

It’s time for me to fully disassemble (not merely field strip!) my Colt Competition 1911. I’ve never done it before. I’d like to know what you use to thoroughly clean everything once disassembled, and advice on lubricants and lubricating during reassembly.  THANKS!

It’s time for me to fully disassemble (not merely field strip!) my Colt Competition 1911. I’ve never done it before. I’d like to know what you use to thoroughly clean everything once disassembled, and advice on lubricants and lubricating during reassembly.  THANKS!
Uspsa competitor here and a full tear down with "thorough" cleaning like you're talking about isn't needed. Take it apart, get a standard cleaner (nothing harsh that strips away coating) such as CLP, use a small toothbrush and clean everything up a smooth surface. Pull the necessary parts back up and get it ready to run again

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk

After you have done it a few times, you will realize it's very easy to do. CLP is a good cleaner/lube. The frame doesn't need to be cleaned very often. Clean everything and apply a thin film of lube where parts rub each other. I  clean my slide after shooting @ 2500rds. You want to keep the firing pin and extractor clean. Gunk will build up there. I use pipe cleaners on the extractor and firing pin tunnels. Safety check the gun after re-assembly.