Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Powder for pistol and PCC

TDF

I have been loading for competition for a few years and have always used tightgoup. I am looking for opinons on the best power to be used for both pistol and PCC without having to change my press setup. My PCC does not work well with the loads that i used, I am guessing the powder is to fast for the long barrel. I am shooting a JP GMR 15.

What is everyone using?

Edited by TDF

8 minutes ago, Hallz said:

What have you used?

I use:

Sport Pistol

N320

Even the WST* & N310

*WST is not recommended for 9mm by Hodgden

With 115 & 124's with JP Bolt and SCS, 14.5" and 16" barrels

I have only used tightgroup. I run 124 and 147 bullets and load them to 130 pf. I would like to find a load that works in both equally well.

Edited by TDF

2 hours ago, TDF said:

My PCC does not work well with the loads that i used.

What was the issue?

130pf production-gun loads make around 148-145pf  in a PCC and that seems to be the sweet spot for them when it comes to accuracy and reliablity.

What did you have problems with?

I use Bullseye currently, which I find behaves much like Titegroup so far as velocity at a given weight at least in handguns.

3.5gr with a 133gr bullet, 133pf from a couple G17s, accurate enough. 

159pf from a 16" very accurate, no issues.

Like Memphis, what's the problem?

1 hour ago, MemphisMechanic said:

What was the issue?

130pf production-gun loads make around 148-145pf  in a PCC and that seems to be the sweet spot for them when it comes to accuracy and reliablity.

What did you have problems with?

Some will shoot fine then some sound almost like quibs. they would make it out but they didnt sound right.

1 minute ago, TDF said:

Some will shoot fine then some sound almost like quibs. they would make it out but they didnt sound right.