Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Finding the dot...

vgdvc

Hello, I'm new to open coming from limited and I have a used Brazos Custom  with C-more on its way to me soon. I have played with carry optics a little and have come across an occuring theme...trying to finding the dot quickly. This isn't an issue with the draw but more coming into an akward position or deep/tight lean. With irons my front sight is always in my peripheral to guide me. Any tips,guidance or exercises to put me on a good path in is greatly appreciated, thanks. 

It’s takes a while to get the hang of. I remember when I first started with the dot, I’d lose it all the time. Damn thing was just nowhere to be found. Then with time it got easier and easier to track. Just give it some time and practice 

Dry fire as must as you can and practice the awkward positions. Set up small barricades in the house/ garage so you can work on finding the dot as you lean around it, it's also a good time to work on having the gun ready as you get in position. I think it takes time and practice. 

5 hours ago, B_Seehawer said:

Are you keeping a target focus or looking through the optic to find the dot?

So I thought I was using a true target focus and then I tried this trick brought to my attention to test it. I put a piece of paper cut-out in front of the Burris fastfire I have all my carry optic. If I'm able to have a target focus I can superimpose the dot on it without having an obstruction of the target. If I'm focusing on the dot I can barely see the target at all which is what the case  most of the time. So now during dry fire I'm trying to  put my visual focus on the target by using this method. I can imagine what it's going to do if I go back to iron sights on long/tight shots LOL

2 hours ago, vgdvc said:

Has anyone found any useful repeatable reference such as something on a C More itself that helps draw your visual attention to the dot as the gun gets leveled to fire coming into position?