Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

STI DVC 9 Major...cracked comp question

jakfrost1

Hi all, just finished cleaning my 'back up' gun, twin of the primary...STI DVC in 9 major...and found a pair of cracks in the comp opposite each other at the first top port, both sides, traveling down to the respective side port. 

This gun is relatively new, 18 months or so, and as the back up gun hasn't seen a lot of rounds, like maybe 5,000. All 125 Zero's in front of an appropriate amount of 3N38. First time I have seen a cracked comp, but I'm fairly new to open, 3 yrs and 30,000 rounds, all thru the pair of STI DVC's. By the way the primary gun with almost 25,000 rounds is fine, as far as I can see. 

My gunsmith said shoot it till it breaks off, no worries. Or at least until it looks like it is about to break off....they all crack sooner or later. 

I see Brazos and Dawson both carry one piece barrel/comp parts for the 2011 series, Brazos has the 'Thundercomp' as well, with more side cuts, but my gun guy says in his experience the only thing the side ports accomplish is to give the top crack somewhere to propagate too...so don't bother with a fancy 'multi hole' comp. 

I would like to have something in my 'spares' bin for the day the comp does fail, but not sure what route to go with a replacement for the 'one piece' barrel/comp that comes on the DVC...? 

Any suggestions? 

Cheers

Jim

PS the photo shows the crack on the right side...left side is exactly the same.

IMG_2844.jpeg

2 hours ago, sauza45 said:

That is the old style comp. Sti has a new comp and they will replace it for you, just send it back to them. 

Have not seen new one, what’s it look like ?

2 hours ago, davsco said:

yeah def send it back vs buying (and installing etc) another comp yourself.