Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Faxon match, Faxon gunner, Odin, BA

ffgats

Haven’t seen this bbls in person, Which of these would you recommend and why

the Gunner is light, but can i use an adjustable gas block ( Superlative.625)which has 1.1” lenght, the gunner gas journal is 1.9” and 625”. Any issue on accuracy after multiple rounds?

Faxon match Flame Fluted - any feedback on its overall performance?

Ballistic Advantage also has the 18” rifle length  fluted - no experience either 

Odin 16” intermediate gas lenght, any good?

right now i have the Ranier Ultra match Fluted 18” Rifle lenght, accurate but front heavy, paired with Odin adjustable GB and Faxon LW BCG. Thanks 

Not really a recommendation, as I have no experience with the other barrels, but a testimony.  I've built several AR's using the Ballistic Advantage 18" stainless steel fluted (rifle length gas system) barrel.  At 100 yards with cheap 55 gr FMJ ammo (Federal American Eagle), using a secured rifle sled I'm consistently at moa at 100 yards and often times sub moa.  With Hornady Black 62 gr FMJ they are consistently sub moa at 100 yards, again from a secured rifle sled.  It's a very impressive barrel. 

I have 3 Odin barrels on match rifles.  Barrel one is a 18" 3 gun rifle gas barrel is 0.5 moa (receiver is trued and thermofit and barrel extension is bedded), barrel two is a 16" midlength barrel, the 0.750 profile and its about 0.8 moa, barrel 3 is the ultralite 16" midlength and that thing is sub moa too, even at 200 yards with a 6x optic.  Its the most picky of the 3 about which ammo it likes, the others not so picky.  I shoot only handloaded HPBT's, no 55 FMJ's.

I hear tons of great things about the Criterion barrels too.  I am trying one of those next, a nitrided model.  People I shoot with and trust have gotten sub moa results on BA barrels too.