Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Which Ambi Safety for STI 2011???

Gcarr

I am new to the 2011 platform and I am not sure which safety I should order. The gun came with only a single sided safety. I would like an ambi and one that is a little wider. Any and all suggestions/recommendations are greatly appreciated... Thank you

Edited by Gcarr

Lone star innovations makes a nice ambi safety, I had a tactical wide that was very nice. Iirc I got it on speed shooters website. There are several others, I have medium sized hands and the wide portion was perfect for resting my thumb.

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk

28 minutes ago, jswhitesell619 said:

Shielded safeties are another option as well. Phoenix trinity and limcat make really nice options for those as well

I think the shielded safeties look cool, but I've never used one and have never been bit by the rear of the slide.  It appears to me, if you use one, you limited yourself to only being able to grab the front of the slide to rack it......

I like shielded. The new Limcat safeties are really nice. By the way, I can rack my slide from the rear of both of my guns that have shielded safeties. Whatever you get I would recommend a wide safety as a minimum. 

47 minutes ago, Gcarr said:

Good information... thank y'all for that. Seems there are a lot (maybe too many) options. I was kinda hoping there was a general consensus that a particular one would be the one to get ... 

That is a tough one. It took me a long time to figure out what I wanted due to my hand shape and size. The biggest thing I learned was that when I removed the ambi safety, I gained much more control of the gun and was more accurate. 

On 11/25/2018 at 10:39 PM, Gcarr said:

I was kinda hoping there was a general consensus that a particular one would be the one to get ...