Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

When should I go to a big 3 gun match?

I'm 22 years old and I started shooting 3 gun about a year ago and in that time I have shot about 15 local matches. I'm at the point where I'm itching to go do something bigger and better in a big national multigun match, but I don't know which matches to look at. For example I feel that I shouldn't show up at the USPSA mulitgun Nationals and take last place on every stage and slow people down who are serious and trying to win. But, I do know of matches such as the Rock Castle Pro/Am which sounds perfect to me (I plan on going to that match in 2019). 

What matches would you recommend for me to do to move to the next level in 3 gun? Please note I'm located in central Indiana.

(Sorry if this is the wrong fourm for this post, I wasn't sure where it should go!)

Shot any matches you can afford to attend. Do not worry about being last or slowing the match down, all levels are there shooting and you will probably gain more experience from a bigger match than just local matches. 

I did a lot of underwhelming local matches, though here in the southeast, we have some awesome monthly matches.  I would jump feet first into a big match like at Rockcastle and that is a great place to go for sure.  I think you will learn a lot and be challenged more.  There is a thread about major matches here on benos.

If you bring a positive attitude and are a safe shooter no one will ever be upset with how much time you take or what place you get. Go to every major you can it will make you a better shooter. The best part is you will meet the coolest people and have a ton of fun. 

My first 3 gun match was the 2015 FNH in west Virginia, got my shotgun the week before the match, taught myself how to quad load a few days before and had the best time ever. Everyone was extremely helpful and happy I was there. 

Do it.