Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Seriously flat primers HS-6 9 major

Jfitz427

Hello fellas, 

ive just started noticing a large amount of really really flat primers for my major load. I’m brand new to 2011 open guns. I’ve put about 1200rds though this one since I got it a month ago. It’s essentially the same exact load I used to shoot though my Glock, except now I’m loading then a bit longer. I’ve read a lot of the threads and my load is quite a bit lower then most others I’ve seen. I’m using federal match small pistol primers, very soft. But I don’t really remember this happening with my Glock. You’d think the pressure would have gone down a bit going from 1.155 to 1.180. I see some people loading out to 1.200, but I don’t feel there’s enough bullet left in the case to load any further then 1.18. The load is 

125g blue bullet

7.3g hs-6

fed Spp

170 pf 

I see people using like 8gs with 124g bullets and up to 9g with 115s, my load is significantly less then that. So is flattening like this normal? I don’t see any other pressure signs other then this. No swipes, no cracked cases. I loaded a few with Winchester primers and they weren’t nearly as flat, but win are much harder primers. Working on getting some pictures. It’s a great load, very flat and smooth. But if I drop it anymore it won’t make major. What do I do? 

Might be possible that the bullets are hitting the rifling in your barrel,

raising pressure.

Have you tried The Plunk Test ?   1.18" seems a bit long - it's possible

your pressure will drop if you back that down to 1.165" or so, but I'd

run The Plunk Test first.

Most major loads are going to flatten and smear federal spp's. Like stated above there are other factors that affect how a primer will look after firing. Short throat and more headspace I've found will create flatter primers. You may have some of this going on compared to your Glock. I'd also save the Fed's for the Glock and move to something else for your 2011 major loads.