Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Cz tactical sport orange or sti edge both in 40

Looking to shoot limited USPSA . Which pistol would you guys go with never owned either . I like both just can’t decide . Only complaint I have is on cz the slide release location and from what I’ve heard the need to tune mags with a 2011 I have no experience with . 

The CZ TS or TSO are both great limited guns.  Only upgrades that are needed are follower and extended base pad to get you to 20 rounds in the mag.

The STI Edge is a bit more expensive  and will also require updated followers and base pad to get you to 20 rounds in the mag.  Some folks find that their mags need to be 'tuned' in order to feed properly.

I have both pistols and would recommend the CZ, unless you have a compelling reason to get a 2011.  I.e. the 2011 trigger design or ergonomics are preferred, you like to tinker, the ability to run different weight/design grips appeals to you, etc. etc.

Another vote for the TSO. Got one myself.

Get the .40 instead of the 9mm. With the .40, you can buy the barrel and mags later on if you wat to shoot 9mm too. It’s simpler to go from .40 to 9mm compared to going from 9mm to .40.

I don’t think you can go wrong with either one. I have an STI Edge in .40 and love it!  I’ve also hear great things about the TSO. 

Is it possible for you to attend a local match to see if shooters there will let you handle their guns?

the CZs I’ve held have amazing ergonomics, which may be your deciding factor. 

Best at of luck!

Darrell

7 hours ago, dstein said:

Hi George16,

You mention that to convert the 40 to a 9, you just need the barrel and mag.  Would I also need a different recoil spring?  Would it still extract properly?

Thanks!

Depending on the load or ammo your shooting, you might not need to. The TSO comes with 3 recoil springs; 11, 13 and 16.