Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Precision Delta 115grn JHP

steelringer79

Hello all, new guy here looking to learn a few things about hand loading. Been lurking awhile now. Its time to start doing some loading now that my new Dillon XL650 is setup. I have the family of Glock 9mm launchers.

I have 2k Precision Delta 115grn JHP. I am somewhat new to the 9mm as far as loading goes and have never loaded anything but LRN or plated round nose bullets. I started on revolvers 357 mag and 44 mag then onto the 1911 45acp.

Kind of at a loss as where to start with these bullets as far as OAL. I see data out there for XTP and GDHP bullets. OAL and powder charge is all over the place. I have 8lbs of Titegroup I would like to use for these. Nothing special to use them for. Just shooting steel and punching paper.

Anybody out there shooting these that could guide me on how to figure them out?

I played around with that last night. Don't recall where I was at.

Bullet to me looks funky. It has a large bearing surface compared to the FMJ. I did the plunk followed by a magic marker then spun it around. I got a bit of rubbing at the beginning of the bearing surface shoulder.

I put the flat seater plug in. Wonder if the bullet is not perfectly aligned. Going to switch to the round one and seat a few more and plunk them.

11 minutes ago, steelringer79 said:

Is there a formula for how much bullet is in the case and how to adjust powder charge? Am I overthinking this?

Don't over think it ;) 

There is no way to easily figure charge weight based on varying seating depths.  I'd suggest investing in a chronograph. 

A PD 115JHP loaded to 1.100" is a good generic length.  It will work well in almost every pistol.  

3.9 - 4.0gr of TG is a good starting point. 

Again, this is only a suggestion, and not to be taken as published loading data. 

Okay.

First, tell us what powder you’re going to be using. Huge factor.