Jump to content
Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!
Shootingbeaver

Do you have to move to a position if targets are available from another?

Recommended Posts

Morning Gentlemen,

 

I shot a match this past Saturday and one of the stages had two fault lines P3 & P4 at the end of a hallway. When you were standing at P3 you were completely behind P4 and if you were standing at P3 against the wall you could see the targets for P4.  So my plan for the stage was to run up to the wall for P3 shoot the P3 targets then twist my waist to the left without taking a step and shoot the targets at P4.  After I finished the SO thought it was a procedural because I didn’t take a step into P4 before shooting.  My argument was that I was behind P4 so it shouldn’t matter if I took a step or not. Now the stage procedure did say something like “move to P3 shoot T5 & T6 move to P4 shoot T7 & T8.  Unfortunately I didn’t take a picture of the procedure.  So the question is do you have to move?

D7F3DA60-3945-418D-9FA9-F0EF614C655F.png

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I’m not following the specific stage order but im sure if the written stage instructions gave direction on where to go and what order, then any deviation is a procedural penalty.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
2 minutes ago, Mcfoto said:

I’m not following the specific stage order but im sure if the written stage instructions gave direction on where to go and what order, then any deviation is a procedural penalty.

All targets were shot according to the stage order and behind fault lines.  

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I agree.  The fault line is the only definition of a cover position.  Nothing says you have to be AT the fault line to shoot, just behind it.

But then I did not keep up my SO card for the current rules. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

If I were RO, I would interpret “move to P4” as a specific stage instruction. You admitted you didn’t “move to it.” 

 

Probably would have been clearer if the stage designer had thrown a box there.

 

Note: Oops. Just realized this is in IDPA rules. Sorry, I am interpreting via USPSA. Darn "All Activity" feed. Carry on.

Edited by Mcfoto

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

That’s just poor stage design.

 

Did the description instruct you to take steps to p4? Or did it say to move? Because it sounds like you did move to p4, you twisted your waist and adjusted your aim. 

 

Something else to think about - there’s only supposed to be one fault line per point of cover. I realize this is two points of cover, but I’m pretty sure that rule exists to avoid this type of situation.  

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Based on the pic, say the shooter is in the black pants, then you would be in cover for P3 AND P4. You do not have to be a specific distance from the POC. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
49 minutes ago, racknrider said:

Based on the pic, say the shooter is in the black pants, then you would be in cover for P3 AND P4. You do not have to be a specific distance from the POC. 

That was my interpretation as long as I shot the targets from behind the fault line I should have been good. Their interpretation is I had to move from P3.  ??‍♂️

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 hour ago, djb25 said:

That’s just poor stage design.

 

Did the description instruct you to take steps to p4? Or did it say to move? Because it sounds like you did move to p4, you twisted your waist and adjusted your aim. 

 

Something else to think about - there’s only supposed to be one fault line per point of cover. I realize this is two points of cover, but I’m pretty sure that rule exists to avoid this type of situation.  

The procedure said move to P4.  

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Under section M-2 MATCH ADMINISTRATION RULES  the match admin guide states

Quote

The procedure cannot forbid legal actions, especially in regard to vision barriers and cover positions. For example, a procedure may not say that a target must be ignored even though it is visible and able to be engaged by the shooter.

So if I can see the target I can shoot it.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
6 hours ago, jhgtyre said:

Under section M-2 MATCH ADMINISTRATION RULES  the match admin guide states

So if I can see the target I can shoot it.

This!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...