Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Moving my bench to the garage worried about rusting and looking for tips?

I’ve been loading on my back screened porch for 25 years on a 550, and I live in Florida.  There is a little rust on the primer magazine, the metal bracket that holds the fail safe rod and that’s about it.  I oil the shaft as needed.  I move the die head inside and cover the press with the nylon cover that’s it.  Next time I break down the press I’ll sand and repaint the rust spots.

A long time ago I built a shop in part of a walk-out basement. I had a lathe, a mill, a drill press, a Star re-loader, and all the necessary hand tools.

Because of the wide fluctuation in temperature throughout the day, along with the moisture, it wasn't long before rust became a big problem.

My only solution was to set up two dehumidifiers and run them almost constantly.

I live in north central Florida, and my press is outside in a non insulated utility shed, and has been there for years. There is light rust on the pull handle, but that is it. I've had no problem with Dillon dies rusting, but Lee dies seem to rust overnight. 

Maybe we should think about hard chrome on the presses? LOL

On 10/27/2018 at 8:47 AM, GrumpyOne said:

I live in north central Florida, and my press is outside in a non insulated utility shed, and has been there for years. There is light rust on the pull handle, but that is it. I've had no problem with Dillon dies rusting, but Lee dies seem to rust overnight. 

Maybe we should think about hard chrome on the presses? LOL

Same experience with Lee dies.

On 10/27/2018 at 3:27 PM, 36873687 said:

Mine in garage also. No problems I keep All powder an primers inside. I just got a 1050 from Florida I can see your  concern. The powder die had completely turned black. Or maybe they were black back in the day

Mine was black as well, lol. Did not think that was the stock color, ill look when I open my new powder drop.