Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

mk7 evopro review from a lee loadmaster user

A little background first...engineer by training, fly airplanes to by the bills.  So I've been taught to analyze and figure things out, but as a pilot I know everything (dangerous combination).  I loaded on the loadmaster for years, before that a pro-1000.  So I have tinkered with reloaders as much as I have actually reloaded.  I was overall happy with the loadmaster with speed and success rate (I'd say on average probably 96-98% of the bullets I loaded I was able to use, that was an acceptable waste level to me based on the cost of the reloader).  I finally decided to upgrade to a more expensive reloader.  My desire is to have something closer to 99%+ of acceptable rounds, and more importantly not have to pull the handle and load ammo semi-autonomously. 

Unboxing - Overall impression is it is an order of magnitude higher as far as quality of parts from my Lee (my daughter has a 550, and I'd say the quality of parts appear to far exceed it as well, never seen a 1050).  The machine work looks to be from quality machines, the press is very rigid, fitment of parts seems to be exact.  There was a scratch or two I found, but that doesn't bother me.  The spring that holds the shell cases in is brilliant.  It allows easy access to remove shells if your checking something without any tools, and it is also easy to put the shells back in.