Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Empty or loaded mags during dryfire?

tdp88

I have always just topped off a mag with one dummy round to dry fire reloads and no mag on draws. Yesterday for some reason I loaded up a mag with dummy rounds and I had a lot more trouble with reloads, I guess from the extra weight. I’m gonna leave the mag loaded for a few weeks of practice and see if it was a fluke session or if it matters. What do you guys do with mags during dryfire?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Load one mag with dummy rounds.

Drop empty mag, reload with loaded mag, put loaded mag back on belt & another empty mag in gun. 

A little less stress on the mags & a little less hassle and when I drop mags they are normally near empty so possibly more realistic. 

Make sure that I check clear after dry firing with empties. A match dq involving a dummy round left in chamber would really really suck. 

When I started shooting limited, I used a mag with dummy rounds until I learned how much pressure is involved with making the reload to a fully loaded mag. I haven't used them in years and I don't seem to have any issue with my reloads.

`

3 hours ago, tdp88 said:

Do y’all have dedicated dry fire mags that you leave loaded all the time?

Now that I'm  shooting 100% PCC, the Glock mags are not that expensive (compared to SVI's) so I have several mags with dummy rounds for dryfire.  I have a bent piece of Kydex in the mag that stops the top bullet in the mag from advancing so I can practice unloaded starts without running a round into the chamber.

A friend of mine gave me some old STI mags that were no longer reliable to use. I ordered the Blue Bullets sample pack of 250 bullets and made dummy rounds  with those so I wouldn't ever confuse them with my regular rounds (red, gold or green) and filled the mags with those. I practice with those for reloads etc..

17 hours ago, tanks said: