Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Shell Case Lubing for Pistols

I was perusing several videos about reloading with a Dillon 550B.  I ran across one in which a guy was discussing how to make your own case lube (99% alcohol and lanolin).  In that video he said that he would also lubricate his pistol brass.  Using carbide dies, I have never used lube on them before.  The guy in the video said that it makes a world of difference in the smoothness of the reloading process.  I figured I would give it a shot.  In order to keep lube from getting inside the case, you need to get a large plastic jar.  I used the container that bulk laundry pods come in (I think it was All detergent).  I took an old t-shirt rag (about 10"X10") and sprayed it down with some lube.  I threw about 100 cases in the container, then soaked down a folded up paper towel with lube on top of the cases.  I twirled and tumbled the cases until I figured they were coated really well and dumped them out to dry.  WOW! What a difference it made.  The case "slides" into the die really slick and smooth now.  He was right, it made a world of difference.  Anything that will make reloading easier, I'm game.  And this is making it easier for me.  Just thought I would share with you guys for those that don't lube their pistol cases. :)

I lube pistol cases in a gallon sized zip lock freezer bag.  I put in a couple of squirts of lube prior to placing the brass in the bag and then zip it up and shake the bag for a minute.  Dump the brass out to dry and then it's good to load.  Doing this makes a noticeable difference in the operation of the press.  I dump the loaded rounds out on an old beach towel, spray it with rubbing alcohol, roll it around in the towel, repeat, and it is ready to fire.

I use homemade lanolin lube and a plastic shoe box. Dump 200 9mm cases in , spray with lube about two pumps, then shake the box to rattle everything around. Then dump in case feeder.