Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Another Beginner Question

toddrod

I have been shooting USPSA for 3 years now and want to start shooting shotgun sports as well. In my area there is not alot of shotgunning going on, so I really have no experienced shooters to learn from so I need to the forum members help at getting starting by answering / listing answers to these questions. I am looking for recommendations for good basic equipment to have fun with at the range. Do not plan on getting into serious competition as money will be an issue.

I have never shot shotgun before.

I am 6'2" and weigh 300lbs

I am left handed and left eye dominant.

The range I will shoot at is new and the owner is not a shotgunner so even he can not help me as far as teaching and he says the field is set up for Clays, skeet, trap and five man with a 5 man elevated deck.

What starter gun for left hander - under $1000 - auto or O/U?

What type of choke tubes?

What type of ammo form Walmart would work.

If I start reloading, what is the cost savings reloading 12 and 20 gauge.

Recommended resource:

Addition websites with information

Books

Video / DVDs

Gunsmithes - for later if I really get into this

Total cost for a round of skeet, ammo, birds, range fees (I believe the range is charging $6 for 25 birds of skeet)

Reloaders - Brands?

Shotshell reloading resources ( how to do it / videos or books) I have many listing for load data already from Winchester, Allaint to start with.

Any thing else you can think of.

The closest big shotgun range is 60+ miles away so I will be learning on my own here. I want to thank everyone in advance for any information.

Could this be made into a FAQ listing.

Todd

I would suggest becoming a member of the National Sporting Clays Association, which gets you a monthly copy of Sporting Clays Magazine which has a lot of great info in it.