Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Does anyone use variable springs?

RustedFrog

I am currently building an open gun and when I was going through my dads parts the other day picking out my springs I just picked out the 11lbs conventional spring to start with that is the same as I have been running in the open gun i have been shooting for the last several years. But I started to pick up the 11lbs variable spring when he told me that no one really uses variable springs anymore. Is that true? and if so then why? I do not know the difference between the two types. 

2 hours ago, RustedFrog said:

I am currently building an open gun and when I was going through my dads parts the other day picking out my springs I just picked out the 11lbs conventional spring to start with that is the same as I have been running in the open gun i have been shooting for the last several years. But I started to pick up the 11lbs variable spring when he told me that no one really uses variable springs anymore. Is that true? and if so then why? I do not know the difference between the two types. 

11 pounds in an Open gun? I run Wolff 8 pound variable springs in my Open guns because that’s what my builder Cheely Custom Gunworks ships them with.

When we ordered the springco kit it came with a green painted spring that is 8lbs for minor and a red painted spring that is 11lbs for major. So that is what I have run in it. I had gone down for a little while but it just did not seem to be as reliable when shooting major as it was with the 11lbs spring. 

14 minutes ago, RustedFrog said:

When we ordered the springco kit it came with a green painted spring that is 8lbs for minor and a red painted spring that is 11lbs for major. So that is what I have run in it. I had gone down for a little while but it just did not seem to be as reliable when shooting major as it was with the 11lbs spring.