Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Slide mounted Dot

RustedFrog

I just got my open gun back today and the only thing I have left is to pick a dot and get it put on. I have two that I already own and can put on that I will probably go with one or the other. My plan was to go with a frame mount and either a Delta Point or a Fast Fire. I have been shooting a slide ride for the last four years and everyone is telling me that I will be faster with a frame mounted dot because it will not move as much. But several of the local shooters have actually switched back to slide ride because they prefer that. I am wondering what other peoples opinions on this is and why? I understand that you will not lose your sight as badly but I feel like if my grip is good and consistent then it will be right back were it is supposed to be before my eyes ever know that it left. But am I just thinking this because I have never shot an open gun with a frame mounted slide. Slide mount is the only way I have ever shot one. 

I shot for a year with a slide mounted dot, and this last season switched to a frame mount, and it's night and day different. I too was in the camp of "slide mounted is just as good!" until I tried a frame mount for the first time. Now a lot of that could be attributed to switching from a Burris Fastfire 3 to a C-more Railway, and the difference in window size, but I think it's still drastically different, even if I were to switch back to the Burris.