Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

New guy’s stupid reloading question here....

SnowinOnRaton

I’m just getting into reloading. My wife and I shoot mostly 9mm, and to a lesser degree some .223. We try to hit the range once a week and put about 250-300 rounds each down range. That’s been getting pretty expensive for our budget so we’ve decided to get into reloading to get more shooting in for our buck. We knew this was coming so we’ve been saving our brass for a while now and man am I glad we did! Out of curiosity I started looking at what new unfired brass costs and I cannot for the life of me, understand why anyone would purchase new brass. Seriously, why does it cost the same or more as factory loaded ammo?! A few online searches for unfired 9mm brass seems to average $.17-$.19 per 1000. I can buy white box Winchester, Magtech, Fiocchi, and Blazer 9mm for that price all day every day. It doesn’t make any sense to my newbie reloader brain so will someone please humor my stupid question and explain to me why the hell unfired brass is the same or more as factory ammo? ?

Thx for the replies guys. Yeah I totally get I’m not going to “save money” so to speak. I’m trying to get more shooting in for the same out of pocket expense. Just trying to maximize our shooting to dollar ratio. I was just stunned to see the cost of new unfired brass is the same as some loaded factory ammo. Stunned! ?

No need to buy new brass for 9mm minor.  Do you have a local indoor range close by?  if so, see if they will sell you once fired brass.  If that's not an option, The classifieds usually have non dealer brass sales with some good deals on brass.

normally people buy new unfired brass for consistency.

same reason people mark or save their brass at the range and/or matches that allow it.

you can monitor the number of reloads you put through your brass, and hopefully eliminate the risk of failed case.

6 hours ago, SnowinOnRaton said: