Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

650 station 1 blues

So I’ve had about 7k flawless trouble free rounds of 40 out of my 650 with Dillon dies. 

Now that I need to ramp up production for some level II’s and stock up for winter, it’s flaking out on me on station 1...

1) It is dropping two cases almost every time. One makes it into shell plate and a second case is sitting (leaning really) right side up on top of it. 

2) About 20% are getting caught on lip of the resizing die. I’ve crunched a few....am able to reach around and pull it snug toward center of shell plate and re-insert. The strange thing it it seems to be snug when placed into position, so it apparently shimmy’s out a few mm on way up. Tighten shell plate? 

Tried search function already. I’m still a rookie reloader so I hesitate to start adjusting a bunch of things. 

Help on on one or both issues is greatly appreciated!!!

Actually, now that I read your description more, it sounds a little like what I had experienced with my first 650.  It ended up being the main bolt on the platform that worked loose and threw everything out of whack.  It wasn't Loctited from the factory ?

they will send you an alignment tool no charge if that turns out to be the problem.

Good luck!

58 minutes ago, diversmith said:

it's Friday....still time to call Dillon.  You might even be able to get any parts needed delivered by USPS on Saturday depending on location relative to AZ.

I called on #2 and they said to adjust the camming pin. The one that impacts the triangular case insert slide. 

I just don’t know how that helps a shell that is pushed all the way into place on shell plate and then gets misaligned on way up. 

2 hours ago, Paulie said:

So I’ve had about 7k flawless trouble free rounds of 40 out of my 650 with Dillon dies. 

Now that I need to ramp up production for some level II’s and stock up for winter, it’s flaking out on me on station 1...