Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Shadow2 Open project

Johansson81

Hi there! My name is Anders Johansson and I live in the northern parts of Sweden, been competing in IPSC for a year and I am thoroughly hooked. I started out in Production division with my Shadow 2 that I was using for national shooting but soon I figured out that it was in the Open division where all the fun was, especially since I am a hobby machinist and like to tinker with my stuff.

While waiting for my new Tanfoglio Domina to arrive I decided to build a backup gun out of the Shadow 2, the plan was to make as much as possible myself both to learn and to avoid pouring buckets of money over a gun that will spend most of its time in the gun safe.

20180910_200613.jpg

After doing some research and getting some help from a guy here named Stefan Halvarsson I had a pretty good idea on how to proceed, first off was to cut the slide 8mm to expose enough barrel so I could fit the compensator. A bit hard on the nerves since there would be no turning back from here on... :)

20180910_204332.jpg

The plan was to mill the slide but I soon found out that it was tempered and hard as glass, so I used the angle grinder instead and finished it off with a rotating sanding stone in the mill.

Since the slide material was so hard I had to figure out another way of securing the recoil spring, the original plan was to drill out the chamber and make a stainless insert just like on the Czechmate but instead I made a steel washer on the lathe and tig welded in place. No problem with coil bind so it turned out to be a very simple and neat solution.

20180910_210746.jpg

To my surprise I found that the barrel was just as hard as the slide, a check with a file confirmed that I would ruin my M14x1 die if I tried, after some head scratching I decided to anneal the barrel end where the threads would go.

received_2157479117838891.jpeg