Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Cross eye dominant

Dasniper

I was wondering who else out there shoots with both eyes open but is cross eye dominant.  I just started trying to shoot with both eyes open. I’m left handed but am right eye dominant.  I turn my head slightly to my left shoulder and can pick up the front sight right away. I’m thinking about adding an optic to my x5 so I figured shooting with both eyes open would be better.  I still tend to close my right eye on distant shots and use my left eye.  I’ve been shooting one eye for about 30 years so it’s going to take a lot of training to get used to both eyes. Any suggestions and or what other techniques do you feel works for you.  Or should I stay with one eye.  

My daughter is right handed but left eye dominant.  She has only shot optics and shoots with both eyes open.  What I noticed is that she simply puts the gun in front of her dominant eye.  She stands facing the targets like normal but when she draws, the gun comes up in front of her left eye.

One thing that will be different with optics is where you focus.  Don't focus on the dot like you would the front sight.  Focus more on the target and let the dot appear there.

Edited by s2000red

Im also crossed eye dominant but right handed and been shooting for about 2 years.  I've trained to keep both eyes open shooting pistol from the beginning.  I also do the same turn of the head but on the other direction.  About 8 months ago I started shooting carry optic and continued to shoot the same way. At first it was hard to find the the red dot. After couple of months, I gotten used of it. Now, I'm shooting pcc with both eyes open. 

I’m cross eye dominant too.  Grew up closing my dominant eye and shooting one eyed. As I got in to college, I trained  myself to shoot both eyes open, but it’s getting hard since my near vision is going down hill fast

so I’ve been switching to optics.