Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

9mm Loading data for 145 RN Acme coated bullets.

pcschwenke

I was wondering what overall length people running.  My goal is to find a decent load with WSF or WST for use with my S&W 986 and XDM5.25.   I was thinking a load of 3.8gr of WSF would be a good starting load.  Any information would be useful.  

Thanks!

Thanks for the starting loads.  I went on and loaded up some rounds last night with 3.6gr of WSF, federal primers, and overall length of 1.115.  They pass the plunk test in my xdm and fit similar to factory loads in my 986.  Hope they are work and are easy to remove from the S&W 986...   This revolver I really want to like, but continues to give me issues.  I haven't been able to get 2 full moon clips through it without misfires or tough extraction.  I bought a much of factory stuff to try as well.  My XDM seems to not care too much and cycles fine with anything.     

I am new to reloading but also load for XDm and revolver (although two different calibers - .40 and .38 sp). What I've noticed is that the revolver is very primer sensitive. Not the brand but the seating. If I hand prime and make sure the primer is below flush, I can get reliable ignition even with CCI. Maybe part of your misfires are primer seating? As you note, the XDm pretty much fires off everything and cycles anything that has made it through the gauge.

Jcc7x7 - I will try Blazer brass.  Back when ordering new moon clips from T-K Custom, they mentioned to use Win, R-P, and Aquila.  So far I'm not convinced these all work.  Thanks for your input!