Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Glock 34 light strikes

OdinIII

I'm running a 4.5 lb. striker spring with a factory striker and had 3 light strikes at a recent match.  I think the gun has about 700-1000 through it with the lighter spring.  I'm new to this game and want to nip this in the bud.  I really like the trigger now but I like a reliable pistol much more.

What is the recommended frequency for striker spring replacement?  Also, I'm using CCI primers because I ran out of Winchesters.  Will Winchester primers fix this issue or is something else going on?  I can only find the Federal mag and match primers in stock.  Should I try these or just buy the easily available Winchesters? 

1 minute ago, OdinIII said:

I forgot to mention that I found one of the failed rounds and there was a slight crease from seating.  From my research that is a good thing.

For me Winchester's are the easiest to seat deep. They just seem to seat deeper.   I've heard others say the same thing about the primers shown signs from being seated deep.

26 minutes ago, Beef15 said:

CCIs are hard, Winchester will probably help.

Are you gauging or plunk testing rounds? They can stop short of the end of the chamber and move forward when struck if the bullet contacts the lands or the case mouth diameter is too large.

Trigger bar is also stock? 

I haven't been plunk testing the rounds but the failed round I recovered from the range plunks fine in my barrel.  I'm assuming that eliminates out of battery issues due to the rounds.

The trigger bar is stock.  I replaced the firing pin safety and striker spring and polished the internals like I've done my other pistols.

Something important I don't often see folks mention is make sure you keep the channel that the striker assembly is in is clean.  No oil or anything in it.  It rides in a self lubricating liner, just clean with a q-tip, wipe off the spring and striker dry, and reinstall it.