Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Looking at gun (vs target) during draw stroke

wrx04

I’m new to USPSA.....just shot my first match two weeks ago and had a blast.  I didn’t do too bad for my first one, but obviously have a lot of room for improvement.

Ive been practicing dryfire, and feel like the initial grip on the pistol is crucial.  I figure it may benefit me to look at the gun during the draw rather than target.  I feel this lets me nail the grip immediately and it takes only a split second to snap my eyes back onto the target.  Any opinions on this?

I noticed a lot of experienced shooters keep their eye on target through the draw stroke, but I assume that’s because their muscle memory is on point.  Thanks .

Edited by wrx04

The gun will always be in the same spot, right where you left it. I don't think there is any advantage to looking down at it when its in the holster.

If you want to look at it if you have to pick it up off a table that makes sense. 

Learn to find the gun without looking. Learn it slow and speed up when you are consistent. Keep your eyes on where you need the gun to appear (if Written Stage Briefing allows).

Obviously, with table or briefcase starts, etc.  look at where the pistol is.

90% of my dry fire drills incorporate a draw and reload. You will develop a natural index point where the sights align with your eyes. This can be developed/checked by drawing with your eyes closed and then opening them to check sight alignment.

Keep practicing and it becomes natural. 

3 hours ago, Goodonpaper said:

90% of my dry fire drills incorporate a draw and reload. You will develop a natural index point where the sights align with your eyes. This can be developed/checked by drawing with your eyes closed and then opening them to check sight alignment.

Never thought to do some draws with my eyes closed, great idea thanks!

There are certain situations where it is best to look at the gun on the draw.