Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Military vs. Commercial Brass

jim6918

I recently placed an order with a highly rated brass supplier for 9mm, .38, .380 and .40 S&W.  Their description for each has a statement that the brass is mostly commercial, but there could be a small percentage of military brass mixed in.  They send an additional 3% to make up for this.  That seems to tell me that there is an "issue" with military brass.

As far as I can tell the only meaningful difference is that military brass head stamps indicate the arsenal of manufacturer and commercial has the stamp of the commercial manufacturer.  Is there any other difference I need to know about?  Is military brass reloadable without concerns?

Or, is military brass even found in typical handgun calibers?

As a newbie, I am being extra, EXTRA careful about each step I am taking.

I still need my right index finger to pick my nose.  ?

I am pretty sure that Berdan brass is a horse of a different color, right?

Edited by jim6918

Thank you, I think the best plan is to just sort and set aside all military brass at this point.  Who knows what the future holds.  I may want to decap, and ream, down the road.  Also I just read that military brass is thicker, and I don't want that to throw off my die settings at this point either.

At my PD range I regularly find 9mm military brass of what looks like Winchester manufacture with the NATO headstamp from local military units which borrow our range.  I load those military brass the same as I do any other 9mm brass on my 650.  Other than the primer pockets being a little tight, the brass resizes/deprimes/primes normally.  The primer pockets do not appear to be crimped.