Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Improving long range rifle shooting

Any suggestions on how to improve long range rifle shooting? Should I be looking for stance/grip or is it something that just comes with time? 

1st match: didn't zero my optic, lots of misses.

2nd match: zeroed at 50 yards but the groupings weren't the best, that said it was all within 2". I'm doing okay with shooting rifle targets that are within 30-50 yards, but the half size targets that are 50 yards away I tend to only get one hit. 

I am using a Holosoun HS515C red dot. My difficulty seems to be with getting the rifle steady enough when my dot is on the target. I have limited experience with shooting optics so maybe I am just doing it wrong. Should I just pull the trigger as soon as the dot gets on target or do I need to wait for the dot to steady? And should you always use a wall to brace the rifle if available? It blows my mind how people are able to shoot up to 300 yards with unmagnified optics.

I would love to make the move to magnified optics, but it's just out of my budget at the moment.

This video was helpful to me:

http://blog.defenderoutdoors.com/offhand-rifle-shooting-tips/

As far as bracing on a wall / prop for a 50 yard shot, it's going to be slower, but better than getting a penalty for a miss!

Spend time to get a great zero and verify it every now and then. It helps with a red dot to pick a zero target that gives you a useful visual reference point. Google turned up this free target that looks good to me (I haven't used it tho) http://www.arma-dynamics.com/red-dot-zero-targets.html

Also, look for an Appleseed shooting clinic. These are cheap, nationwide volunteer run classes that teach the traditional funadmentals of rifle marksmanship. 

Edited by DesertTortoise

3 hours ago, DesertTortoise said:

This video was helpful to me:

http://blog.defenderoutdoors.com/offhand-rifle-shooting-tips/