Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Crimp question

JMPhotog

I am new to 40 cal reloads  and 2011 (been reloading 45 and 9 for years for my 1911's). I found that my CK Arms Thunder likes them loaded to 1.180 OAL. My question is crimp. I was crimping them between .421 and .4205. They ran fine in my gun like that and chamber checked just fine.

Tonight I was fine tuning some mages and was hand cycling some rounds through the mags to check feeding. I noticed as I ran them through the mags and into the chamber by hand cycling the slide, it reduced the OAL. I am assuming this is from when it hits the feed ramp during feeding. Now I know this will not normally be the case, the rounds will just be loaded and then shot. But it begs me to ask the question, is it normal for the bullet to seat a little deeper during the feeding process? Is my crimp not tight enough? I am using Berrys 180 gr THP. 

" Now I know this will not normally be the case  the rounds will just be loaded and then shot. ". Not sure how you know this. How much does it reduce the OAL? If the OAL is too long the bullet hits the lands and causes the set back.Chamber checking will not pick this up. Take a bullet and put it partially into a fired case. Slide it fully into the barrel. Slowly pull it out. That will be the minimum OAL. Be careful with your current loads.When the bullet hits the lands before firing it can cause the pressure to spike.

23 minutes ago, Youngeyes said:

" Now I know this will not normally be the case  the rounds will just be loaded and then shot. ". Not sure how you know this. How much does it reduce the OAL? 

What I meant by that was, I don't normally load rounds and hand cycle them a couple times as testing dummies before firing. Normally they are loaded and then just shot. 

They reduced by a hundredth or two. So started at 1.180 and dropped to 1.170