Jump to content
Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Recommended Posts

Shooter doing the course of fire drops his whole belt with pistol in the holster . The pistol was empty and did not come out of the holster Is this a DQ?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

100% depends on ruleset.  Some yes, some as long as unloaded your pistol can fall out of the holster and not be a DQ

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

If it was unintentional, then a DQ, If it was intentional, then possibly no if 10.5.3.1 - 6 are adhered to.

 

10.5.3 If at any time during the course of fire, or while loading, reloading or unloading, a competitor drops his handgun or causes it to fall, loaded or not. Note that a competitor who, for any reason during a course of fire, safely and intentionally places the handgun on the ground or other stable object will not be disqualified provided:

 

Dropped Gun ...................(during the course of fire) A condition in which a competitor loses control of their handgun. Loss of control does not require the handgun to land on the ground or other range surface or prop. It occurs anytime the handgun is no longer in control of either hand, even if it is trapped against part of the body or caught in midair.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
37 minutes ago, Bkreutz said:

 

If it was unintentional, then a DQ, If it was intentional, then possibly no if 10.5.3.1 - 6 are adhered to.

 

10.5.3 If at any time during the course of fire, or while loading, reloading or unloading, a competitor drops his handgun or causes it to fall, loaded or not. Note that a competitor who, for any reason during a course of fire, safely and intentionally places the handgun on the ground or other stable object will not be disqualified provided:

 

Dropped Gun ...................(during the course of fire) A condition in which a competitor loses control of their handgun. Loss of control does not require the handgun to land on the ground or other range surface or prop. It occurs anytime the handgun is no longer in control of either hand, even if it is trapped against part of the body or caught in midair.

 

 

This is multigun rules, not uspsa, so not necessarily.  

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Whoops, didn't look at the header, if I'd realized it was multigun, I wouldn't have said anything. ?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Lay the long gun down carefully, safety on.

Put your stuff back on.

Pick the long gun up and press on.

All on the clock of course, no "time outs"

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

...unless this is IRONMAN or HAH, in which case you drive on with your long arm.  A squad mate or RO can grab the belt and bring it along until you get to a dump barrel at which time you can figure out how to get dressed again...

 

(the preceding IS dependant upon whether or not you have a good squad, or have been good to your squad, resetting and the like.  They may let you get to the back of the bay and then tell you to run and go get it.   :

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

This is the main issue i have had with 3 gun. Every match has its own rule set. It doesn't even go by the club, instead down to the match. Locally, at Rockcastle shooting center, we use 3-4 different rule books through the year. It makes keeping up with it all a little tough. I understand that it is up to the match director to decide how he wants to run a match but it seems like we could get together and pick some rules, at least the ones that can get you sent home. I have shot matches this year that can make the swing from a DQ for dumping a gun not on safe, to it being totally ok if a gun hits the ground as long as its not loaded. And then "loaded" is defined different depending on the match. Some it can have rounds in the magazine but not the chamber. Its just a lot for a shooter to keep up with. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 8/1/2018 at 10:33 PM, atomicferret said:

...unless this is IRONMAN or HAH, in which case you drive on with your long arm.  A squad mate or RO can grab the belt and bring it along until you get to a dump barrel at which time you can figure out how to get dressed again...

...

 

Depends on rules. Do they allow assistance during COF?

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 8/20/2018 at 11:25 PM, perttime said:

 

Depends on rules. Do they allow assistance during COF?

 

 

Yes, both of those matches do allow assistance. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Step #1: get a belt keeper!

 

Depends on the match, if its a "dont point guns at people and don't put rounds over the berm" kinda match, pick it up and keep going, don't expect help. 

Knowing Brian running Hard as Hell, it would be "did he point a gun at anyone? Did he put a round over the berm?" 

 

If it's anything else, probably a DQ, in my opinion if it's verified empty by an RO, it's a stick until you load it.

(still don't intentionally flag people, but think about slinging guns)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...