Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

newbie with Coated Bullets...recomendations please

champ198

I am still pretty new to USPSA and have been loading for my XDm 9mm 124gr Plated bullets from RMR bullets. I run Tightgroup powder for them. cant remember off the top of my head the powder amount or COL with out looking and I'm not at my bench.

I have been thinking about going to a Coated bullet from SMS. what I am unsure about is what starting load to try and powder to use. I have read on the SMS website that they suggest a slower burning powder unlike the Tightegroup which they say is fairly fast burning. would like to get some input from some of you all that have shot this combo before or where to look for beginning loads to try. I have shot WSF and also W231 in the past and it shot fine. the reason I went with the Tightgroup was due to availability at the time I needed powder and it shot really well with the plated bullets I have.

The problem with Titegroup isn’t how fast it burns. It’s how hot it burns.

Wheelgun shooters don’t use titegroup because the high nitroglycerin content heats the cylinder up too much to comfortably hold during a stage. Durn the burn, this can also cause it be very smoky. It’s burning some of the coating off your bullets.

(EDIT: lots of people load titegroup and coated bullets and don’t mind the smoke. I’m not one of them, but thousands of shooters do it all the time.)

Ideal powders are things like WST, N320, Prima V, and Sport Pistol. Among others.

If you still have WSF on hand, use it for a trial batch to see how you like shooting coated. Other powders will be a pinch slower, but you’ll barely feel it.

Ensure that you’re loading with juuuuuust enough crimp to straighten the case walls, and no more than that. Consider it a “flare removal” die in all 9mm loads. Overcrimping is the biggest reason new reloaders have accuracy problems, especially with lead and coated... but it also applies to jacketed.