Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Anyone move from Limited to CO or Production?

gunz213

This is my first year shooting USPSA, but I've shot 2 gun and unsanctioned IDPA in the past. Right now I'm shooting a 6" and 4" 2011 in .40 but all my other pistols are 9mm so I've been thinking about selling off my 2011's and getitng a Shadow 2 and maybe a SP-01 to try carry optics. I have a G19 with a RMR now so I like shooting with a RMR but I prefer the feel of a metal frame.

Has anyone dumped their limited gear and regreted it later?

Three of the people I shoot with left Limited and tried CO.  No one has gone back yet.  One liked CO so much he moved to Open.  CO lets you use optics and 140 mags.  So you shoot the stages like you would in Limited, but with optics.  Open is even more fun, because the toys are nicer.

1 hour ago, gunz213 said:

This is my first year shooting USPSA, but I've shot 2 gun and unsanctioned IDPA in the past. Right now I'm shooting a 6" and 4" 2011 in .40 but all my other pistols are 9mm so I've been thinking about selling off my 2011's and getitng a Shadow 2 and maybe a SP-01 to try carry optics. I have a G19 with a RMR now so I like shooting with a RMR but I prefer the feel of a metal frame.

Has anyone dumped their limited gear and regreted it later?

Shoot you're Glock with rmr in CO next match. See if you like it. 

I started in prod and now shoot Lim but will try CO. 

They all seem fun. Gotta try them all to see which I/you like best. 

Edited by B_RAD

11 minutes ago, gunz213 said:

I just can’t afford to do both right now and I like my 2011’s, but I think I’d shoot them more if they were 9mm. 

I’ll probably try the Glock next time I shoot and see how it goes. 

I tried CO, wasnt for me, went back to limited.  I am guessing that since you would shoot more in 9mm guns that you dont reload.  If that is the case, get a press before you go any further, you will be happy you did