Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Warnings (Can I give the shooter the "finger"?)

Smitty79

My recollection was that the RMI who taught my RO course told us that you need to stick to the commands in the rule book from the time the shooter comes from the line to the time you call the range clear.   I've been shooting USPSA for 5 years and been an RO for a little over a year.   I'm still learning a lot about how to RO.

A few months ago, I was ROing a person who was not on his first match, but had low single digit match experience.   Every time he moved, his finger was very near the being in the trigger guard.   Finally, it didn't come out as he left and shooting position and I was obligated to DQ him.   He wasn't happy and rage quit and went home.   Another shooter who was with him left too.

I was shooting an IDPA match the other day with a guy who is a very experienced RO (Many years at multi-gun nationals and many area/sectional matched) and said that I like the fact that IDPA allows a finger warning.   I would have liked to have warned the guy I DQ'd.    The experienced RO told me that even thought it's not in the USPSA rule book, he would give finger warnings if he saw someone close at a USPSA.

What are the thoughts of the brain trust?

• Replies 93
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I am NOT an RO, but my personal feelings as a Long Time Shooter,

is that I prefer Warnings over DQ's, period.  

A warning is just as effective a learning tool as a DQ,  IMHO.

At an Area Match about a decade ago, the MD caught me

handling a magazine at a Safe Table, and kept coming back

about five times to Warn me, and remind me, NOT to do that

again.

In the past decade, I've NEVER done that again.   Very effective   :)

Yes, he could have DQ'd me - I also would have learned my

lesson - but no real need to DQ me, so he didn't.    :cheers: 

Ignoring rules at an Area match?  Shame.