Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Parts for my STI to fit my hand.

CheekyChung

I've been building my "shopping" list for parts to make my STI fit my small hands better. Any recommendations would be appreciated; I'm fairly new to the 2011/1911 aftermarket, so I'm not too sure of what options are out there.

Trigger - STI Short trigger https://dawsonprecision.com/trigger-sti-2011-hicap-short-curved-by-sti/

I can't justify the SV trigger unless I planned on swapping them out constantly.

Magazine release - I'm looking for a mag release that reaches back like this one https://www.speedshooter.com/product_detail.cfm?id=STIMB&n=STI-Magazine-Release-Button

Slide stops - Shooting Sports Innovations w/ thumb rest. https://www.speedshooter.com/product_detail.cfm?id=ACSSB&n=Shooting-Sports-Innovations-Thumb-Rest-Slide-Stops

My biggest issue as of now is my support thumb riding the arm of the slide lever and locking the slide back. It's also a cheaper and less riskier option than drilling my frame for a separate *thumb rest [generic]*.

Grip Safety - Ed Brown grip safety. https://dawsonprecision.com/grip-safety-1911-memory-groove-series-70-by-ed-brown/

Pictures seem like it'll reduce the thickness from trigger to the back of the frame, but there aren't measurements anywhere to compare? Also, not sure if blending/gunsmithing is necessary.

Gunsmithing - How much material can you remove from the grip and frame before risking weakening them too much? Also on the DVC Limited, is the frame hard chromed like the slide or just stainless?

Don't forget the grip and safeties. Both of these items may help you out. I know that the safety made a big difference for me with comfort. 

https://www.speedshooter.com/product_detail.cfm?id=ES-STI-CB&n=Extreme-Shooters-Black-Costa-STI-Grip

https://www.speedshooter.com/product_detail.cfm?id=WC423S&n=Wilson-High-Ride-Ambi-Thumb-Safety--Stainless

I'm assuming your doing all this because you have small hands.