Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Magazine Issue

hitman_usmc

I have been using MBX 140 and 170 magazines for the past several months.  They started off flawless but overtime I'm having a reoccurring issue.  A round will not move all the way up into the correct position to feed.  The nose isn't dragging on the front, nor are any of the subsequent rounds.  The strangest thing is it is a almost always the fourth round from empty that does this on multiple mags.  All of the other rounds before and after the 4th from empty feed perfectly.  I thought it might be the magazine springs getting weak since I can't find anything dragging inside to prevent the full force of the spring to push the follower/rounds.  I replaced all the springs (with MBX springs) but this continues to happen more often than not.  I checked the feed lips and they are correct per the MBX and Atlas videos.  

magissue2.JPG

magissue3.JPG

Edited by hitman_usmc

That's the exact problem.  All the pictures are of the malfunction I'm getting  It just so happens to be the fourth round from empty.  All of the other rounds are up much higher and parallel to the feed lips.  I can't figure out why this is happening.  

I just loaded up an MBX with 4 rounds, and it is still parallel with the feedlips.

Have you tried changing the follower?  If the spring didn't make a difference, that's about the only other thing to change.

If the rest of the rounds are parallel, it probably isn't the feed lips.

Just a random thought, are any rounds too long and hitting the magazine catch hole?

I could try the follower.  The are stock MBX followers that I've never changed.  Seems weird that the follower would only have an issue with a round in one particular spot but it's worth a shot.  All the rounds are at 1.165"